PLY22 - Cultural quarters

The Plymouth and South West Devon Joint Local Plan has now been adopted! To find out more please visit the Plymouth and South West Devon Joint Local Plan: Adoption page.

Visit the interactive Plymouth Plan to see other policies that affect decision making across Plymouth City including the Council and its partners.

Support will be given for cultural development proposals and proposals which protect existing cultural facilities within the city's three cultural hubs:

  • Royal Parade, The Hoe and historic waterfront (to include Royal William Yard, Millbay and The Barbican / Sutton Harbour)
  • North Hill / Tavistock Place (including the area around Plymouth University, College of Art, Museum and proposed History Centre).
  • Devonport (centred around Devonport Guildhall, Market building, and Plymouth Music Zone and Music Hub)

The cultural hubs and the places that connect the hubs will be locations where it will be easier for people to occupy temporarily vacant spaces for artistic and cultural ventures.