TTV1 - Prioritising growth through a hierarchy of sustainable settlements

The Plymouth and South West Devon Joint Local Plan is now at the public examination stage. Keep up to date with what's happening on our Plymouth and South West Devon Joint Local Plan: Examination page.

The LPAs will distribute growth and development delivering homes and jobs in accordance with the following hierarchy of settlements, enabling each town and village to play its role within the rural area:

1.     The Main Towns - which will be prioritised for growth to enable them to continue to thrive, achieve strong levels of self-containment, and provide a broad range of services for the wider area.

2.     Smaller Towns and Key Villages - which will receive support for growth commensurate with their roles in supporting the small villages and hamlets.

3.     Sustainable Villages - where development to meet locally identified needs and to sustain limited services and amenities will be supported.

4.     Smaller villages, Hamlets and the Countryside - where development will be permitted only if it can be demonstrated that it fully meets the principles of sustainable development and sustainable communities (Policies SPT1 and SPT2) and positively contributes in all other respects to a sustainable and beautiful countryside. 

In order to focus sustainable development into settlements that have the facilities to support and accommodate them, settlement boundaries will be identified for settlements in the top three levels of the settlement hierarchy and kept under regular review through supplementary planning documents. Development outside of settlement boundaries will be considered with particular regard to Policy TTV31.